PS Work Centres

Logistics : PS

Moderators: Snowy, thx4allthefish

Post Reply
Ekow

PS Work Centres

Post by Ekow » Sun Feb 16, 2003 5:12 pm

Does anyone know if it is possible to assign external persons (ie not part of the HR organisation unit) to a project system work centres? And if so how. We do not want to assign service contractors in HR but for allocation of activities need to find a way of linking them to the work centre.

Thanks Ekow

fatman
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2002 1:23 am
Location: San Francisco

work centers

Post by fatman » Mon Feb 17, 2003 10:00 pm

Hi Ekow,

why do you want your service contractor to be created as personnal? why not create as vendor?

You can create work center as person , assign responsible person .
Also you can assign personnal from HR. But I don't think we can assign external person to work center who is not in the system.


Anybody knows how to assign external person to workcenter please let me know. I would like to assign GEORGE BUSH and SADDAM HUSSAIN.


FATMAN

GK
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 7:52 pm
Location: Australia Downunder
Contact:

Post by GK » Mon Feb 17, 2003 10:30 pm

hi there,

for any person/object to be linked to any person/objecct in SAP, a master record has to exist. so there is no way to assign an external contractor to workcentre unless it is created somewhere in SAP.

now coming to that, one option is to create external contractor as 'external employee', this will create an HR master but will not include the person in organization headcount. if the HR users are worried about headcount then this maybe a good solution.

from there on the HR record can be linked to workcenter and so on.....

the other option is what fatman has suggested.

try that out

cheers

SSlusarenko
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 2:26 pm
Location: Greater Vancouver
Contact:

Re: PS Work Centres

Post by SSlusarenko » Fri Feb 28, 2003 3:32 pm

Ekow;

It looks like you are incurring the cost of your contractors initially against a work center, and then recovering their burdened cost through an activity allocation using KB21N. In this case, you would not need an HR record as this is not being performed through the time entry system. The only thing you need in your work centre is the number of capacities, as you are using capacity planning. You can also have default activity types for external contractors, and when you perform cost planning, this will update your planned value based on the requirements identified and the cost centre that is providing these resources. It is only when you wish to perform manpower planning and use the time entry system for individuals that you should have to create any HR record, and as mentioned by another forum member, these folks can be identified as external forces...

All the best,

Post Reply